Classifying Zodiac Signs

Classifying Zodiac Signs by Duality

Each Sign has a Duality. Astrologers use different names such as assertive/passive, yin/yang, and male/female to describe the dualities. Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius are all assertive (extroverted) Signs while Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces are passive (introverted) Signs.

Classifying Zodiac Signs by Modality

There are three modes: Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable. The Cardinal Signs are efficacious and self starters. Fixed Signs are focused and determined. Mutable Signs are flexible and adaptable.

Classifying Zodiac Signs by Element

The Signs are further grouped into one of the four Elements. The Elements Fire, Earth, Air and Water each have its own temperament. The Fire Signs are vital and intense. Earth Signs are practical and stable. Air Signs are social and intellectual. And last but not least the Water Signs are intuitive and emotional.

No two Zodiac Signs are exactly alike. Try to familiarize yourself with the three classifications. It will give you a better understanding later on when interpreting an astrology chart.

Zodiac Sign Duality Modality Element
Aries Assertive Cardinal Fire
Taurus Passive Fixed Earth
Gemini Assertive Mutable Air
Cancer Passive Cardinal Water
Leo Assertive Fixed Fire
Virgo Passive Mutable Earth
Libra Assertive Cardinal Air
Scorpio Passive Fixed Water
Sagittarius Assertive Mutable Fire
Capricorn Passive Cardinal Earth
Aquarius Assertive Fixed Air
Pisces Passive Mutable Water

Now that you have an understanding of the different ways to classify the Zodiac Signs it’s time for a practical exercise.

Save the blank astrology chart below and print it out. Put the planets and Zodiac Signs correctly on the chart just like you did in Step 1.

blank astrology chart

Print Blank Chart

Now I want you to write each Sign’s duality, modality and element in the correct section on the chart.

When you are finished your natural astrology chart should look like the chart posted below. Don’t be concerned about making your chart look perfect; just keep practicing until you have everything put to memory

blank chart small-filled in

View Larger Size

Print Completed Chart

Let’s now move on to Step 3.

Return from Classifying Zodiac Signs back to Learn Astrology – Step 3


Astrology Signs - Home

Visitor Sitemap