Astrology Symbols

Astrology Symbols - Glyphs - Dates

There are 12 Zodiac Signs and you need to memorize the Astrology symbol, glyph and date for each Sign, as well as the correct order they are listed in below. This will help immensely later on.

astrology symbols for zodiac signs

There are 10 Planets in astrology. For simplicity we refer to the Sun and Moon as planets but really they are called luminaries. Now put to memory each planet's Astrology glyph.

planet glyphs

Copy or save the images above and print them out. Practice drawing the symbols.

Take your time. For older individuals (like me) this may seem like a daunting task but stick with it. Once you have mastered the basic language of astrology (the symbols and glyphs) you are ready to place them on an astrology chart.

The Natural Astrology Chart

The natural astrology chart, or flat chart, always starts at 0.00 degree of Aries (the natural Ascendant of the Zodiac) and works its way counter-clockwise until it ends at 29.59.59 degrees Pisces. This is because the Western Tropical Zodiac aligns with the ecliptic and begins at the moment of the vernal (spring) equinox.

The yearly cycle is likened to a circle and just like the circle it has 360 degrees. There are 12 Zodiac signs and each sign is precisely 30 degrees of arc.

Below is a picture of the natural astrology chart. Study it carefully.

natural chart with astrology symbols

Save the blank astrology chart below and print it out. Practice putting the planets and Zodiac Signs correctly on the chart exactly like the picture above. Don’t worry if you don’t quite understand everything just yet. The important thing right now is for you to learn the symbols and their correct placement on the natural astrology chart.

Good Luck!

blank astrology chart

Once you feel you have mastered this lesson you can move on to Step 2.

Return from Astrology Symbols back to Learn Astrology – Step 2


Astrology Signs - Home

Visitor Sitemap